top of page
Writer's picturethisfoodbangz

Olivia’s Sweet Potato Pie Recipe

Updated: Aug 31, 2022

Sweet potatoes? Yams? What are they? Straight up delicious! That’s what. Whether they are served alone (not without some butter, of course) or baked and covered in a gooey-golden-marshmallow topping, this root vegetable is not overlooked in the South. One of our favorite ways to dress up a sweet potato is by turning it into a pie! Sweet Potato pie makes an appearance at almost every Thanksgiving at my house and sometimes on Christmas!


Everyone likes to put their own little twist on this classic dish. My aunt swears by her recipe that calls for a little squeeze of lemon juice and the smallest bit of lemon zest. My mother adds a little bourbon to hers. And some real Southern ladies make a meringue to sit on top of the pie. While I enjoy the add-ons every now and then, I appreciate the simplicity of a plain old no frills pie. And believe me when I say, it’s SIMPLE.

Here is the humble recipe I use:



Sweet Potato Pie


Course: Dessert Cuisine: American Prep Time: 10 Minutes


Cooking Time: 20 Minutes Servings: 8-10 people



Ingredients:

1 pie crust

2-3 cups mashed sweet potato (1-2 large sweet potatoes or 1 small bag of smaller potatoes)

1 cup of evaporated milk

¼ cup sugar

¼ cup melted butter

1 tablespoon flour

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon salt

1 tablespoon cinnamon or cinnamon/nutmeg/ginger mix (while in the UK, I’ve been using Schwartz Mixed Spice blend)

2 eggs beaten

Method:

  1. Boil, peel, and mash your potatoes.

  2. Make sure you have no lumps and no what I like to call potato hairs, the strings that sometimes form around the outer edges of sweet potatoes.

  3. Those are no fun to bite into. Let your mash cool, and mix in all the remaining ingredients!

  4. Pour into your pie crust and bake at 350 f/150?ish c for 35-40 minutes until set.

I told ya’ll it was simple!

Enjoy <3


38 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page